Stay on Your Feet: Standing Back Up After Getting Get Knocked Down

Being a parent is really hard.

I have two boys of the rough-and-tumble variety. They’re usually covered in bruises and scrapes from a variety of activities. Falling down is never a problem, they literally dust off and run back into play.

Recently they both got knocked down by other kids at school and how they handled it taught me more than I taught them. It also changed the way I approached an issue I was obsessing on and led me to write a LinkedIn post about standing back up.

Here’s an excerpt and I’d love to hear how you all have dusted off and got back in the game:

My oldest son started middle school a few weeks ago. One day when he was playing football at lunch, another boy knocked him down three times during the game. He came home annoyed – saying he wanted to work out more, get stronger, and not be so “wobbly” on his feet.

A week later, my other son got pushed down by a classmate before school. He was embarrassed and frustrated. He seemed more upset that he got knocked off his feet than that this kid pushed him. A couple days later, the other boy pushed him again and he scooted a couple feet to the side but didn’t fall down.

The next day as he was leaving for school, I asked him how would handle it if the boy came up to him again. “I plan to stay on my feet today,” he said.

As a parent, I was running around talking to the teachers and administrators at the schools about both issues. My sons, meanwhile, were focused on how to get back up.

View full post here.

Leave a Reply

